Overview:
By default, Xero prevents invoices from syncing when there is insufficient stock for a tracked inventory item. The order remains in the Unsynced Orders list with the error. You must update the stock quantity in Xero and retry syncing the order.
With this setting option, invoices can be synced even when the available stock is insufficient. Xero records the unfulfilled quantity as a backorder and automatically adjusts it when additional stock becomes available.
How Does It Work?
For example, suppose an invoice contains 1 unit of a tracked inventory item, but only 0 unit is available in Xero.
-
Without the setting enable: Xero prevents the invoice from syncing due to insufficient stock.
-
With the setting enable: The invoice will be synced, and 1 unit will be recorded as a backorder.
When additional stock is received in Xero through a bill or inventory adjustment, Xero automatically adjusts the backorder accordingly.
For more information, refer to Xero’s documentation on About backorders for tracked inventory.
How to Apply Setting:
Follow these steps to apply this setting in Parex Bridge Xero:
-
Go to Settings.
-
Navigate to the Product Settings tab.
-
Make sure you have selected ‘Unique Product Every Order’ in the Xero Product creation option.
-
Locate the checkbox to sync orders when product quantities are unavailable in Xero.
-
Select the checkbox and click on OK in the information modal.
-
Click on Save from top.
Once enabled, the setting will apply to eligible new orders.
Important Notes:
-
Unique Product Every Order: This setting only applies to the unique product selection criteria. If you are using the same product for every order, this setting option will not be visible.
-
Approved invoices only: This feature does not affect the syncing of draft or awaiting approval invoices. Backorders can only be used when invoices are marked as approved.
-
New orders only: The feature applies only to orders created after it has been enabled.
-
Previously unsynced orders: To sync orders that were created before enabling the feature, navigate to the Order List and resync the relevant orders.